Do shared albums show up on icloud?

Last Update: April 20, 2022

This is a question our experts keep getting from time to time. Now, we have got the complete detailed explanation and answer for everyone, who is interested!

Asked by: Eileen Douglas
Score: 4.5/5 (7 votes)

The photos and videos in your Shared Albums are kept in iCloud, but they don't count against your iCloud storage limit.

Can I see shared albums on iCloud?

You can view shared albums in the iCloud Shared Albums app. Choose Start menu > iCloud Shared Albums.

Can I save shared albums on iCloud?

Yes, everyone who has access to the shared album can download them, but Apple makes you pick and download or import images–sometimes one at a time, depending on the software you're using to view the album. In iOS, you can select the image, tap the Sharing icon, and tap Save Image.

Why can't I see shared album?

Tap Settings > [your name] > iCloud > Photos. Turn off Shared Albums. Tap OK. The albums and photos will automatically be added again when you turn this setting back on.

What is shared albums on iPhone?

Shared Albums let you share photos and videos with just the people you choose — and they can add their own photos, videos, and comments. Use Shared Albums on your iOS or iPadOS device.

How to create a shared album in iCloud

31 related questions found

How do I see shared photos on iPhone?

How to view shared photo albums on iPhone, iPad, Mac, and PC
  1. Open Photos on your iPhone or iPad.
  2. Tap on the Albums tab.
  3. Scroll down until you see the Shared Albums category and tap See All to view shared albums.

How do I view shared photos on iCloud?

Just open a Shared Album that you created, go to the People tab on your iOS device or click the people icon on your Mac, and turn on Public Website. Your photos publish to a website that anyone can see in an up-to-date web browser.

How do I view a shared album?

Manage your conversations and albums
  1. On your mobile device, open the Google Photos app .
  2. At the bottom, tap Sharing .
  3. You can access your shared albums and sharing activity, like comments and recently added photos. New sharing activity will be in bold.

Why can't I see Google photos shared with me?

One Drive users may contact the Google Help. Thus when the link does not work for you, try in an incognito (private) window. When it still does not work there may be a problem with the link. The owner should check whether the album still exists and is shared.

Why can't I see my shared albums on iCloud website?

Shared albums are not hosted in the same space as your iCloud.com account is. Shared albums are not visible at all outside an iOS/macOS Photos app unless you create the public website.

How do I view a shared album on my iPhone?

How to accept a shared album invite
  1. Go to your Photos app.
  2. Tap the For You tab. The invite should appear at the top of the list.
  3. Tap Accept.

Can my family see my iCloud photos?

That way your photos, documents, and other information stay private, even though you're sharing access to the service. You simply share the features and space available in iCloud+ with your family members, so you only have one plan to manage.

Does deleting a shared album delete the photos?

Deleting shared albums that you created will remove the photos and videos stored in them AND unsubscribe the people with whom you've shared the album. Those people will “lose” the shared photos and videos, unless they explicitly made a copy in their own Camera roll or iCloud Photo Library.

Where are shared albums stored?

Shared photos and videos are stored in iCloud. But they don't count against your iCloud storage limit. You're free to share up to 5,000 photos without having to pay for more storage.

How do I see shared photos in Imessage?

How to View All Photos You Sent or Received Through the Message App on iPhone or iPad
  1. Step #1. Open the Messages app → Tap on any conversation where you have exchanged a lot of photos.
  2. Step #3. Tap on Contact/Group name and then Tap on the “i” icon.
  3. Step #4. Scroll down and Tap on See All Photos.

How do I move photos from shared album on iPhone?

Copy photos from Shared Albums on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch
  1. Open Photos and tap Albums.
  2. Find Shared Albums, then tap the name of the album that you want. You might need to swipe left to find the shared album.
  3. Save photos from the album using one of these methods: ...
  4. Import the photos to your computer.

What happens if you turn off shared albums?

Disabling it turns off any photos you've shared in albums to other people, but it also deletes all shared images from other people that are on your iOS or macOS device. So disabling it won't remove any images from your libraries or Camera Roll from your devices.

What happens if I delete shared photos?

When you delete a shared album you own, it's removed from all your devices and the devices of all its subscribers. When you unsubscribe from an album, it's removed from all your devices.

How do you recover a deleted shared album?

After you confirm deleting a shared album, you cannot restore it. All your original media remains in place, so there's no worry about losing images or videos, but comments and other metadata added to the shared library is lost.

Can someone see your iCloud photos?

Photos need to be actually shared through that album to be visible to other members of the family group however. So unless you actually share you photos, they cannot be seen by anybody else.

Do Hidden Pictures go to iCloud?

Basically “Hidden” is a special album that appears if you start hiding photos. Every hidden photo automatically vanishes from your Camera Roll, however, and while they are backed up to iCloud, they are apparently “not visible when viewing the library from a web browser” according to a chat group.

Will hidden photos show up on iCloud?

I've confirmed now that Hidden photos do get uploaded to iCloud Photo Library. However, the Hidden album is not visible when viewing the library from a web browser.

How do I create a shared album in iCloud?

How to create a Shared Album
  1. Open the Photos app.
  2. Tap the blue plus sign in the top-left corner. All your Shared Albums will stay grouped together, apart from other Albums. ...
  3. Tap "New Shared Album."
  4. Name the album, and tap "Next."
  5. Invite the people you want to share the album with. ...
  6. Tap "Create."

How long does it take to upload a shared video to iCloud?

- A 5-minute, 30 MB video uploaded using a broadband connection (1-5 Mbps upload speed) can take between 30 seconds to 3 minutes to upload. - A 2-hour, 1 GB movie uploaded using a broadband connection can take about 20 minutes with a 5Mbps upload speed or 1.5 hours with 1 Mbps upload speed.