Does deathtouch kill indestructible?

Last Update: April 20, 2022

This is a question our experts keep getting from time to time. Now, we have got the complete detailed explanation and answer for everyone, who is interested!

Asked by: Dr. Erica Considine
Score: 4.3/5 (4 votes)

Indestructible creatures also ignore deathtouch. Normally, a creature is destroyed if it takes damage from a creature with deathtouch. But since indestructible creatures can't be destroyed, they're immune.

Does Deathtouch override indestructible?

Does desthtouch defeat indestructible? No, deathtouch causes "lethal damage" to creatures, indestructible creatures cannot be killed by "lethal damage". 702.2a Deathtouch is a static ability.

What kills indestructible?

A creature with indestructible can die as a result of anything that is not damage (Lightning Bolt) and does not explicitly use the word 'destroy' (Doom Blade). And of course, they can be exiled, returned to their owner's hand, or put back into their owner's library.

How do you destroy indestructible creatures?

Description. Indestructible permanents can still be put into their owner's graveyard by other means, such as by the "legend rule", by being sacrificed or (in the case of creatures) having zero or less toughness. They can also be removed from the battlefield by being bounced or exiled for example.

Can you block indestructible creatures?

Indestructible creatures can be blocked. Indestructible is not an evasion ability. If an indestructible creature is blocked, it still takes damage. That damage won't destroy it though.

What is indestructible ??? - MTG

20 related questions found

Can you target indestructible creatures?

Yes, Indestructible creatures are legal targets for spells/abilities that say "destroy target creature." The spell actually does resolve, but when it attempts to destroy the creature rule 700.4 prevents it from happening.

Does Hexproof protect from Deathtouch?

No it doesn't. Deathtouch on a creature just means that if that creature deals damage to another creature, be it combat or non-combat, that the creature dealt damage will be destroyed. The deathtouch ability doesn't target anything so hexproof will not save a creature dealt damage with deathtouch.

Does first strike beat Deathtouch?

Creatures with deathtouch deal damage during the regular combat damage step. Fortunately, if you block a creature with deathtouch with a creature with first strike or double strike, your creature will deal damage during the first strike damage step, before the deathtouch creature can return fire.

Does indestructible prevent sacrifice?

If you're asking can you REPEATEDLY sacrifice the same artifact without it leaving the battlefield, then no. Indestructible only means it can't be destroyed, by either effects that say "destroy" or by lethal damage.

Does indestructible Trump Deathtouch?

Even when they battle creatures with deathtouch, creatures with indestructible come out on top. However, indestructible does have its limitations. If a creature's toughness is reduced to zero, it still dies, even if it has indestructible.

Can you regenerate from Deathtouch?

You can regenerate from Deathtouch by paying the regeneration cost. If a creature blocking or blocked by a creature with Deathtouch is dealt enough combat damage to destroy it, its controller does not have to pay regeneration costs twice to keep it alive.

Does protection from black stop Deathtouch?

Does Protection From a Color Prevent Deathtouch? The short answer here is yes. Protection from black, for example, will prevent all damage dealt by black creatures and spells to whatever has that protection. Deathtouch means that any amount of damage counts as lethal damage.

Does wrath of God destroy indestructible creatures?

5 Answers. Yes, Wrath of God will kill all creatures with shroud. It will also kill all creatures that have protection from white. It won't kill creatures that are indestructible.

Does sacrifice count as dying MTG?

Yes you can . Dying is a keyword that means going from the battlefield to the graveyard. This includes sacrifice.

Can you regenerate a sacrificed creature?

Description. Sacrificing or saccing is purposely or forcefully removing a permanent from play. This can be due to an effect on the card itself, the effect of another permanent already in play, coming into or leaving play or a spell such as an instant or sorcery. A sacrificed permanent cannot be regenerated.

Is Deathtouch evasion?

It's not like an evasion ability like flying, unblockable, or trample (sort of) where you're normally guaranteed to get some amount of damage in past the early game, and it's not like first strike/double strike where it threatens to survive combat while killing another creature.

Can you block Deathtouch?

Deathtouch vs Indestructible

This disables deathtouch entirely, as even if a deathtouch creature deals damage, it'll never be lethal to an indestructible creature. Brash Taunter and Venomous Hierophant MTG cards. ... I block it with Venomous Hierophant, which is a 3/3 deathtouch creature.

Is Deathtouch only combat damage?

The rules say about deathtouch: The rule that causes creatures dealt damage by a source with deathtouch to be destroyed applies to any damage, not just combat damage.

Does Deathtouch work on Planeswalkers?

Planeswalkers that are not also creatures have no interaction with Deathtouch. They just take damage and lose loyalty counters as normal. Planeswalkers are never treated as creatures, and they are never treated as players.

Does playing a land count as casting?

If an object is both a land and another card type, it can be played only as a land. It can't be cast as a spell.

Does destroy all creatures work on Hexproof?

Does destroy all creatures work on Hexproof? Yes, cards with “destroy all …” don't target the permanents they affect, so Hexproof does not protect them from being destroyed. Generally speaking, if the word 'target' doesn't appear on the card, the spell or ability isn't targeting.

Does exile beat indestructible?

While Indestructible cards can't be killed by damage and ignore damage checks, their toughness outside of damage still needs to remain about zero for them to stay alive. ... Indestructibility does not stop cards from being: Exiled.

Can you destroy a tapped creature?

Yup. He kills your creature before damage is assigned.

Do indestructible creatures still take damage?

Indestructible creatures do take damage, but you have misunderstood the relationship between damage and toughness. Damage does not lower a creature's toughness; a creature simply dies when it takes damage equal to or greater than its toughness- lethal damage.

Can enchantments be indestructible?

Enchanted permanent has indestructible. (Effects that say “destroy” don't destroy that permanent. A creature with indestructible can't be destroyed by damage.)