Should i read miss peregrine?

Last Update: April 20, 2022

This is a question our experts keep getting from time to time. Now, we have got the complete detailed explanation and answer for everyone, who is interested!

Asked by: Britney Morissette
Score: 4.7/5 (39 votes)

If you're a fan of the recent film version, Riggs' debut novel is a must-read. ... Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is an inspiring and exhilarating read that deals with the protagonist's experience with grief, and it's also a wake-up call to the things children must come to terms with to grow up.

Is Miss Peregrine worth reading?

Awesome novel with clever plot, believable characters and creepy photographs is sure to please teens! Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children is a brilliant book. ... I would highly recommend this book to anyone who likes books with interesting plots, likeable characters and something unique! Great book, worth a read!

Why should I read Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar?

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children lays the foundation for a trilogy that promises to be filled with adventures – discovery of the self, of new things, and of the truth. The story's pace will keep you on your toes and asking for more by the time you reach the last page.

What age should read Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar?

Age Appropriate For: 12+. This film based on the popular children's book skews older in this adaptation, and would be best for tweens and older.

What should I read if I like Miss Peregrine?

From NoveList Plus, creepy atmosphere suffuses the pages of these darkly fantastical read-alikes for Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.
  • Long Lankin by Barraclough, Lindsey.
  • Death watch by Berk, Ari.
  • Through the woods by Carroll, Emily.
  • Skin hunger by Duey, Kathleen.

I Read The Miss Peregrine Series in 24 Hours and Everything Goes Wrong| Doing Something Stupid

30 related questions found

What age group is Miss Peregrine's book?

Miss Peregrine's was never made for young children, but for young adults. The film is based on a book written by Ransom Riggs that is listed by Barnes & Noble as intended for ages 13-17, landing it squarely in the YA section.

Is there a Miss Peregrine's 2?

Unsourced material may be challenged and removed. 396 pp. Hollow City is a 2014 dark fantasy novel and a sequel to Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children written by Ransom Riggs. It was released on January 14, 2014 by Quirk Books.

What books should a 12 year old read?

The Best Books for 12-Year-Olds of 2021
  1. The Night Diary. Heart-Wrenching. ...
  2. The Girl Who Drank the Moon. For Magic Lovers. ...
  3. Percy Jackson Series. An Addictive Supernatural Series. ...
  4. Up for Air. Perfect for Swimmers. ...
  5. Harry Potter Series. A Staple for All. ...
  6. The Science of Breakable Things. ...
  7. Mostly the Honest Truth. ...
  8. Track Series.

What happens in Miss Peregrine?

Jacob and his new peculiar friends give chase, kill Golan and the hollowgast, and rescue Miss Peregrine. Miss Avocet is taken away, and Miss Peregrine is stuck in bird form. Because she can't change back, the time loop collapses, the bomb falls, and the home is destroyed.

Is there 6th Miss Peregrine book?

Parents need to know that The Desolations of Devil's Acre is the sixth and final installment in Ransom Riggs' popular Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children series. Reading the series in order will really enhance your understanding of the characters and plot.

Is Miss Peregrine book scary?

The novel Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, on which the movie is based, definitely has some chilling moments, but the tone of the novel itself is not scary. It's about a boy, Jacob, who discovers an orphanage run by Miss Peregrine where she, and the children who live there, all have peculiarities.

Is Miss Peregrine's Home Real?

Unlike a number of works by Burton, the film is not based on his own original idea. ... Obviously, there aren't really people like this in the world, so there's no real home for them, but the idea for the story still came from the real world. The inspiration for the book came from Riggs' collection of vintage photographs.

How old is Jacob Portman in the book?

Jacob Magellan Portman — A 16-year-old American teenager and the protagonist of the story.

Why is Miss Peregrine's PG 13?

Rating: PG-13, for intense sequences of fantasy action/violence and peril. A teenager named Jake (Asa Butterfield) travels back in time to visit an orphanage full of kids with magical abilities in the latest fantasy adventure from director Tim Burton.

What are 10 year olds reading?

Here are 19 books your 10-year-old will probably enjoy and benefit from.
  1. The One and Only Ivan. One of a Kind. ...
  2. Sweep: The Story of a Girl and Her Monster. Enchanting Storytelling. ...
  3. Roller Girl. A Favorite. ...
  4. Odd and the Frost Giants. Written By a Master. ...
  5. Belly Up. So Much Fun. ...
  6. All Four Stars. Top Rated. ...
  7. Smile. ...
  8. Treasure Hunters.

Can a 13 year old read the fault in our stars?

The book may be too mature if your child is under age 13. Try these readalikes instead! John Green's novel The Fault in Our Stars captured hearts, and was eventually made into a feature movie, too. The book's themes and plot may be a bit too mature for your tween, though.

Can you see me book autism?

Endearing, insightful and warmly uplifting, Can You See Me? is a story of autism, empathy and kindness that will touch readers of all ages. ... Something she can't cover up, no matter how hard she tries: Tally is autistic. Tally's autism means there are things that bother her even though she wishes they didn't.

Will there be a hollow City movie?

Hopefully speaking, provided it gets announced any time within this year or next year, which is anyway two years too late, we can expect Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children 2, 'Hollow City' if you may, to hit theatres by 2022; maybe even 2021 if we are being completely optimistic.

Why did they change Emma's peculiarity?

"First of all, I got the opportunity to create a new [character]. Second of all, I didn't try to go near fiery Emma. I created a whole new character. I didn't even read the books before I felt like I actually had an idea of who movie Emma was.

What peculiarity do the Twins have?

Peculiarity. Not too much is known about their peculiarity, but in the movie they were capable of turning a wight into stone with just a glare, similar to Medusa in Greek Mythology. It was believed in the book they had a telepathic bond.

What is Claire's peculiarity?

Claire's peculiarity is "backmouth", meaning she has a mouth on the back of her head. It is described as being "sharp-toothed", and is masked by her thick golden curls. It is unknown whether or not the additional mouth is able to speak, but it has the ability to eat.

Is Miss Peregrine Home for Peculiar on Netflix?

Sorry, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children is not available on American Netflix, but you can unlock it right now in the USA and start watching!

What is wrong with Victor in Miss Peregrine?

Death. from the collection of Robert Jackson Victor Bruntley was killed by a hollowgast after leaving Miss Peregrine's loop when he "couldn't stand it any longer", as Emma explains to Jake.

Why do Hollowgast eat eyes?

When a hollowgast consumes enough peculiar souls, they evolve into wights, who look like normal humans apart from their eyes, which have no pupils.