Whats the infield fly rule?

Last Update: April 20, 2022

This is a question our experts keep getting from time to time. Now, we have got the complete detailed explanation and answer for everyone, who is interested!

Asked by: Reva Strosin DVM
Score: 4.6/5 (46 votes)

The infield fly rule is a rule of baseball and softball that treats certain fly balls as though caught, before the ball is caught, even if the infielder fails to catch it or drops it on purpose. The umpire's declaration of an infield fly means that the batter is out regardless of whether the ball is caught.

What is the point of the infield fly rule?

The infield fly rule states that runners may advance "after the ball is touched". This rule governs the tag up if the infield fly is caught. The runner does not need to wait on base until the fielder achieves full control of the ball. There is no need to tag up at any time if the ball is dropped.

Why is there an infield fly rule Who does it protect?

The purpose of the rule is to protect the runners on base. This rule IS NOT supposed to be a free gift to the defense. The batter is ruled out so the runners are no longer forced to advance if the ball falls untouched.

What happens if you drop an infield fly rule?

What happens if you drop an infield fly? Regardless of if the ball is caught or not, once the umpire calls infield fly, the batter is out. The ball is still live and base runners are allowed to advance at their own risk.

What is infield fly rule in Little League?

By Little League® definition, the infield fly rule is a fair ball (not including a line drive nor attempted bunt) which can be caught by an infielder with ordinary effort, when first and second; or first, second or third bases are occupied, before two are out.

The Infield Fly Rule (Short version)

35 related questions found

Can you score on a fly ball?

Definition. A sacrifice fly occurs when a batter hits a fly-ball out to the outfield or foul territory that allows a runner to score. ... (If the ball is dropped for an error but it is determined that the runner would have scored with a catch, then the batter is still credited with a sacrifice fly.)

Can you intentionally drop a fly ball?

When an infielder deliberately drops a fair ball or a line drive to set up a double play situation, runners may safely return to the bases they occupied at the time of the pitch. ... Runners cannot advance under this rule. Umpires shall immediately call “Time,” when, in their judgment, the ball is intentionally dropped.

Can a bunt be called an infield fly?

The effect of calling an infield fly is simply this: by calling the batter out, you take the force play off the runners on base. ... A bunt or attempted bunt can never be an infield fly, no matter how high it pops up. A blooper to the infield is also not an infield fly.

Does MLB use infield fly rule?

Umpires rule infield fly

If these conditions are met, the umpire verbally declares the infield fly rule to be in effect and points to the air, while the ball is still airborne. When this occurs, the batter is automatically out, regardless of anything else that happens on the play.

Can you steal on a caught foul ball?

A foul tip is always a strike; and, unlike a foul ball, a foul tip can result in strike three. A foul tip is a live ball. Runners can advance (steal) at their peril. If the catcher does not catch the ball, then it's a foul ball (dead ball).

Can an infield fly be called on a foul ball?

If the hitbecomes a foul ball, it is treated the same as any foul. If a declared Infield Fly is allowed to fall untouched to the ground, and bounces foul before passing first or third base, it is a foul ball. ... When an infield fly rule is called, runners may advance at their own risk.

Can you call infield fly after the play?

Unless NCAA has changed their ruling, they do not allow the IFF to be called after the fact. The umpire must call it at the time of the play.

What happens if a ball hits a runner?

After a batted ball has been touched (deflected) by an infielder, if the ball then strikes a runner (unintentionally on the part of the runner), it is alive and in play despite the fact that another infielder may be in position to field the ball.

Why do catchers tag batters after they strikeout?

If the Catcher drops the ball on a third strike (doesn't matter if the batter swings or not) then the batter can run to first base. If he reaches First before being tagged he is safe and there is no out recorded (but the Pitcher still gets credit for a strikeout).

Is Shortstop an infield or outfield?

The shortstop is an infield player positioned between second and third base. Shortstops are responsible for covering balls that are hit between second and third base and acting as a cut-off for outfielders.

How do you score an infield fly?

Most scorekeepers indicate a swinging third strike with a regular K and a called third strike with a backwards K. This is the 3rd out of the inning. A fielder's choice is recorded when the batter puts the ball in play and gets on base because the fielder attempted to put out another runner.

What happens if a baserunner is on second base when the third out of an inning is made?

First: No run can score when the third out is made by the batter-runner not reaching first base safely. If a base runner on third crosses the plate with two out before the batter-runner is put out on a ground out or a fly out, the run does not score. ... The runner from first had stumbled and fallen before touching second.

How much do MLB umpires make?

According to Bleacher Report, MLB umpires make more per year than officiating crew members from the NFL and NHL. The average big league umpire makes $235,000, while the average salary for NFL referees is $188,322. The highest-paid refs are in the NBA, where the average is $375,000.

Between what two bases can a person not get into a pickle in baseball?

A rundown, informally known as a pickle or the hotbox, is a situation in the game of baseball that occurs when the baserunner is stranded between two bases, also known as no-man's land, and is in jeopardy of being tagged out. ... This is repeated until the runner is put out or reaches a base safely.

Can an outfielder tag a runner?

If an outfielder catches the baseball, the runner must touch the base he was previously at. ... However, if the runner tags up, he can take advantage of the baseball being so far in the outfield to run safely to the next base.

When a home run is hit with a person on each base it is called a?

A grand slam occurs when the bases are "loaded" (that is, there are base runners standing at first, second, and third base) and the batter hits a home run. According to The Dickson Baseball Dictionary, the term originated in the card game of contract bridge.

Can you steal on a walk?

A batter who draws a base on balls is commonly said to have been "walked" by the pitcher. ... When a walk occurs, the ball is still live: any runner not forced to advance may nevertheless attempt to advance at his own risk, which might occur on a steal play, passed ball, or wild pitch.

Is it a homerun if you catch the ball and fall over the fence?

When the ball is hit over the wall, and the outfielder catches the ball and falls over the wall with the ball is it a out or a home run? ... However, if the fielder loses control of the ball while going over the fence or hitting the ground and loses the ball it will be called a home run.

Can you run bases on a fly ball?

On long fly ball outs, runners can often gain a base; when a runner scores by these means, this is called a sacrifice fly. ... To double a runner off, a fielder must touch the runner's starting base while in possession of the ball, before the runner returns to the base.

Can you score on a 3rd out?

No run may score on an inning-ending play in which the third out is a force out or on the batter before he reaches first base. Put in other words, force outs count before runs are scored. It is common that a runner reaches home plate a moment before the third out is made by force out.