Who need emigration check?

Last Update: April 20, 2022

This is a question our experts keep getting from time to time. Now, we have got the complete detailed explanation and answer for everyone, who is interested!

Asked by: Lafayette Wolf
Score: 4.4/5 (72 votes)

ECR stands for Emigration Check Required. An Emigration Check is a verification process. If you have an ECR category passport, you will have to go through an emigration check if you plan to travel to certain countries for work. This generally applies to jobs for unskilled workers.

Who required ECR in passport?

1. What is a ECR passport? (i) The Emigration Act regulates emigration of skilled, semi-skilled and unskilled workers as well as certain professionals such as 'Nurses', notified from time to time, for employment abroad in 18 specified countries including Saudi Arabia.

Who is eligible for ECR?

ECR stands for Emigration Check Required. In general, if you have not passed 10th grade/class (Matriculation or higher education pass certificate) then your passport will fall under ECR Category.

Which countries require ECR?

The 18 countries for which emigration clearance is required for ECR passport holders and nurses travelling for work are as follows: Afghanistan, Bahrain, Indonesia, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Malaysia, Oman, Qatar, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Sudan , South Sudan, Syria, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen ...

How do I know if my passport has emigration check required?

Check your Passport: ECR passport or ECNR Passport

Step 1: Open your Passport and find the stamp. Step 2: Stamp will look like this below image. Step 3: In this, it's clearly written Emigration Check Required. Step 4: If you found this stamp in your passport it means you are in ECR categories.

What is ECR, Emigration Check Required, ECR Stamp on Passport

43 related questions found

Is my passport ECR or ECNR?

For those passports issued prior to January of 2007, if there is no notation in the passport, it means that it is an ECR passport. For those passports that have been issued after January 2007, if there is no notation, it means that the passport is an ECNR or Emigration Certificate Not Required Passport.

How do I know if I am eligible for non-ECR category?

You are eligible for the Non-ECR category passport if: Your education qualification is above 10th grade and you have all the necessary documents. You are 50 years of age and above. You hold a Diploma in Polytechnic from any recognized institute.

Which are the 17 ECR countries?

List of Countries Where Emigration Check is Required. Emigration clearance is required only for 17 countries namely Afganistan, Bahrain, Iraq, Indonesia, Kingdom of saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Jordan, Libiya, Lebanon, Malaysia, Oman, Qatar, Sudan, Syria, Thailand, UAE and Yemen.

What is an ECR country?

The 18 ECR countries are Afghanistan, Bahrain, Indonesia, Iraq, Jordan, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Malaysia, Oman, Qatar, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen.

Can ECR passport go to Dubai?

Yes, you can choose to visit Dubai with ECR passport, provided that you produce the valid documents before visiting the ECR countries on Dubai visa without applying for an employment visa type.

How can I get non-ECR proof?

  1. i) Proof of assessment of income tax and actual payment of income tax for last one year. OR. ...
  2. For spouses, certificate signifying relation. i) An attested copy of marriage certificate issued by the Marriage Registrar needs to be submitted. ...
  3. For dependent children certificate signifying relation.

What are the disadvantages of ECR passport?

11. What are the disadvantages of an ECR passport?
  • emigration check.
  • emigration check not required.
  • emigration check required.
  • indian passport.
  • travel abroad.

How can I get passport for uneducated person in India?

Affidavit sworn before a magistrate or notary stating date and place of birth as per the specimen in Annex 'A' by illiterate or semi-illiterate applicants (less than 5th class). They don't have school leaving certificate nor birth certificate.

What is ECR category in passport?

ECR stands for Emigration Check Required and ECNR stands for Emigration Check Not Required. ECR status will be printed in the passport of the applicants who fall in the ECR category. For those falling in the Non-ECR category, there will be no specific mention in the passport.

Is 12th Marksheet required for passport?

Degree Certificate or 10th Mark sheet or 12th Mark sheet Compulsory. 5. NOC if you are a government Servant.

How can I get emigration clearance for ECR passport?

An emigrant, having an ECR passport and departing to any of the Notified Country, has to apply online on the eMigrate system (http://emigrate.gov.in). After the emigrant applies, the application will be processed online by the jurisdiction PoE office.

Which are the Ecnr countries?

You are required to apply for ECNR stamp when -

United Arab Emirates (UAE), The Kingdom of Saudi Arabia (KSA), Qatar, Oman, Kuwait, Bahrain, Malaysia, Libya, Jordan, Brunei, Yemen, Sudan, Afghanistan, Indonesia, Syria, Lebanon, Thailand and Iraq.

Can I travel to Qatar with ECR passport?

Well if you are travelling for a work permit, then you would need additional approval from Embassy to travel to Qatar with an ECR passport. However, if you are travelling for tourism and seeking an arrival Visa then the case should be different.

Can I travel to us with ECR passport?

If you were to a take any GCC airline, you would be a transit passenger and ECR will not apply. To put it bluntly; if you are able to exit the country, and you have a valid visa for the US - you should have no issues during your travel and on entry that have to do with your ECR.

How can I check my emigration clearance status in UAE?


Denizens can contact the Amer centre in Dubai on the toll-free number 800-5111. Those overseas may call on +971-4-313-9999. This is also the best way to check UAE travel ban status with your passport number.

What is ECR full form?

ECR stands for Emigration Check Required. It is related to the type of passport. Your passport can be either ECR (Emigration Check Required) type or Non-ECR or ECNR (Emigration Check Not Required) type.

What is non ECR in passport application?

Non-ECR stands for Emigration Clearance Not Required (ECNR). ... The ECNR passport holders can travel to anywhere in the world without the need of clearing the emigration. Indian citizens who have passed their 10th grade can get the ECNR and there will be no need to clear emigration at the counter.

How can I convert my ECR to non ECR?

Minors holding ECR passport issued from outside Dubai can change their ECR to ECNR status passports from the respective passport issuing authority only. Those who completed Tenth Standard can submit passport application by attaching their Certificate copy and ECNR declaration.

What is the alternative of 10th certificate for passport?

School leaving/Matriculation/ Transfer Certificate - The applicant can use either the college/university transfer certificate, school leaving certificate or the matriculation certificate to fulfil the requirement for proof of D.O.B. provided the certificate contains the D.O.B. of the applicant.

How do I get my passport Ecnr stamp?

To apply for an ECNR stamp in the passport, the applicant is required to fill a Miscellaneous Application form (EAP-2). The application form may be submitted personally or through a representative (having an authority letter duly signed by the applicant as per Annexure 'L') or by registered post.